Current list of  Nigerian senators and their districts

Current list of Nigerian senators and their districts

Nigerian Senate represents the legislative branch in the country being the upper house of the National Assembly (shortly abbreviated as NASS). How many senators do we have in Nigeria? Where can you view the list of all of them and figure out what district they represent? Keep reading and you will know everything about the current list of Nigerian senators.


                                                                           NIGERIA SENATE HOUSE

All the senators in Nigeria are 109 in number. This has been outlined in the country’s Constitution 19 years ago. Each of the 36 Nigerian states has three senatorial districts, and each one has to elect its own representative into the Senate. There is only one member of the Senate to represent the Federal Capital Territory.

3 years go the country elected its 109 senators in Nigeria till 2019 (exactly, the next year is very important for all the citizens). The current list of Nigerian senators represents the eighth National Assembly from 2015 to 2019.

           List of Nigerian senators and their senatorial districts

So, here is a of all the senators in Nigeria led by Bukola Abubakar Saraki (Senate President) and his assistant Ike Ekweremadu.

1. Abia State

  • Theodore Ahamefule Orji (Central district)
  • Enyinnaya Harcourt Abaribe (Southern district)
  • Mao Arukwe Ohuabunwa (Northern district)

2. Adamawa State

  • Abdul-Aziz Murtala Nyako (Central district)
  • Binta Masi Garba (Northern district)
  • Ahmad Abubakar (Southern district)

3. Akwa Ibom State

  • Godswill Obot Akpabio (Northwestern district)
  • Nelson Asuquo Effiong (Southern district)
  • Bassey Akpan (Northeastern district)

4. Anambra State

  • Stella Oduah-Ogiemwonyi (Northern district)
  • Emmanuel Nnamdi Uba (Southern district)
  • Victor Umeh (Central district)

5. Bauchi State     

  • Malam Ali Wakili (Southern district)
  • Sulaiman Mohammed Nazif (Northern district)
  • Isah Misau (Central district)     Read : Made In Nigeria Car 

6. Bayelsa State

  • Ben Murray-Bruce (Eastern district)
  • Emmanuel Paulker (Central district)
  • Foster Ogola (Western district)

7. Benue State

  • Barnabas Andyar Iyorhyer Gemade (Northeastern district)
  • George Akume (Northwestern district)
  • David Mark (Southern district)

8. Borno State

  • Mohammed Ali Ndume (Southern district)
  • Abubakar Kyari (Northern district)
  • Baba Garba (Central district)

9. Cross River State

  • Gershom Henry Bassey (Southern district)
  • John Owan Enoh (Central district)
  • Rose Okoji Oko (Northern district)

10. Delta State

  • Peter Noeluka Nwaboshi (Northern district)
  • Ovie Omo-Agege (Central district)
  • James Manager (Southern district)

11. Ebonyi State

  • Joseph Obinna Ogba (Central district)
  • Sunday Ogbuoji (Southern district)
  • Sam Ominyi Egwu (Ebonyi-North)

12. Edo State

  • Francis Asekhame Alimikhena (Northern district)
  • Aisagbonrid Urhoghide (Southern district)
  • Ordia Clifford (Central district)

13. Ekiti State

  • Duro Faseyi (Northern district)
  • Fatimat Raji-Rasaki (Central district)
  • Biodun Christine Olujimi (Southern district)

14. Enugu State                

  • Gilbert Nnaji (Eastern district)
  • Ike Ekweremadu (Western district)
  • Utazi Chukwuka (Northern district)

15. Gombe State

  • Mohammed Danjuma Goje (Central district)
  • Joshua Moljobok (Southern district)
  • Usman Bayero Nafada (Northern district)

16. Imo State

  • Hope Uzodinma (Western district)
  • Samuel Anyanwu (Eastern district)
  • Ben Uwajumogu (Northern district)

17. Jigawa State

  • Muhammed Ubali Shitu (Northeastern district)
  • Abdullahi Gumel (Northwestern district)
  • Mohammed Sabo (Southwestern district)

18. Kaduna State

  • Shehu Sani (Central district)
  • Suleiman Hunkuyi (Northern district)
  • Danjuma Laah (Southern district)

19. Kano State

  • Jibrin I. Barau (Northern district)
  • Kabiru Gaya (Southern district)
  • Rabiu Kwankwaso (Central district)


20. Katsina State

  • Kurfi Umaru (Central district)
  • Abu Ibrahim (Southern district)
  • Mustapha Bukar (Northern district)

21. Kebbi State

  • Muhammad Adamu (Central district)
  • Bala Naallah (Southern district)
  • Yahaya Abdullahi (Northern district)

22. Kogi State

  • Ahmed Ogembe (Central district)
  • Atai Usman (Eastern district)
  • Dino Melaye (Western district)

23. Kwara State

  • Mohammed Lafiagi (Northern district)
  • Rafiu Ibrahim (Southern district)
  • Bukola Saraki (Central district)

24. Lagos State

  • Bareehu Ashafa (Eastern district)
  • Oluremi Tinubu (Central district)
  • Olamilekan Adeola (Western district)

25. Nasarawa State

  • Philip Aruwa Gyunka (Northern district)
  • Suleiman Asonya Adokwe (Southern district)
  • Abdullahi Adamu (Western district)

26. Niger State

  • David Umaru (Eastern district)
  • Sani Mohammed (Southern district)
  • Aliyu Abdullahi (Northern district)

27. Ogun State

  • Olanrewaju Tejuoso (Central district)
  • Buruji Kashamu (Eastern district)
  • Joseph Dada (Western district)

28. Ondo State

  • Omotayo Donald (Central district)
  • Robert Boroffice (Northern district)
  • Yele Omogunwa (Southern district)

29. Osun State

  • Olusola Adeyeye (Central district)
  • Omoworare Babajide (Eastern district)
  • Ademola Adeleke (Western district)

30. Oyo State

  • Abdulfatai Buhari (Northern district)
  • Rilwan Akanbi (Southern district)
  • Monsurat Sunmonu (Central district)

31. Plateau State

  • Jeremiah Useni (Southern district)
  • Johan Jang (Northern district)
  • Joshua Chibi Dariye (Central district)

32. Rivers State

  • George Sekibo (Eastern district)
  • Olaka Nwogu (Southeastern district)
  • Osinakachukwu Ideozu (Western district)

33. Sokoto State

  • Abdullahi Ibrahim (Southern district)
  • Aliyu Wamakko (Northern district)
  • Ibrahim Gobir (Eastern district)

34. Taraba State

  • Emmanuel Bwacha, con (Southern district)
  • Abubakar Sani (Northern district)
  • Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf (Central district)

35. Yobe State

  • Ahmed Lawan (Northern district)
  • Mohammed Hassan (Southern district)
  • Bukar Ibrahim (Eastern district)

36. Zamfara State

  • Tijjani Kaura (Northern district)
  • Kabir Garba (Central district)
  • Ahmad Sani (Western district)

37. Federal Capital Territory

  • Philip Aduda Tanimu

Now you know how many senators are in Nigeria, what districts they represent and each of their names. Hold them responsible for you developmental projects in your districts……



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


What is 6 + 14 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)